Good evening. I have been working for 7 ...

Asked by Edward on 13-09-2021 20:42:34
Question posted in the General Law category relating to KwaZulu-Natal

Good evening. I have been working for 7 days at this company. I produced my driver's license which expired end of December 2020. This has now been extended to March 2022 as per the national road act. They called me in this afternoon to say I was dishonest as I do not have a licence and I cannot work there. I said I do just expired and have until March 2022 to renew. I even asked if they could give me abit of time to renew it as I've been unemployed for quite some time and no funds to renew. They said no and there's going to be big penalties for me to pay on my driver's license. This is untrue as we have until next year to renew. Can they dismiss me for this. Thank you for your time. 

Information Requested by Lawyer

Posted by Att. Patrick on 13-09-2021 21:04:55

Hi there,

I see that you haven't made a payment for the question, but I'm going to assist you a little. If you want to ask a follow-up question, please make the required payment, even if it is R150 or R200.

In my opinion, you have not been dishonest. If you haven't, then they can't just dismiss you like that. They need to prove that you were dishonest, and they need to give you a hearing, and then they need to decide on a penalty. They can't just fire you. 

I think that you should tell them this, and then tell them that you are willing to refer the dispute to the CCMA if they won't change their mind. 

Att. Patrick 

Please remember this is a dialog if you have follow-up questions please make the required deposit, then use the REPLY button and ask your further question. I would like to continue assisting you, but I need to concentrate on people who make deposits for their questions - they get serviced first!

If you would like to view the entire answer, you will need to either login or register a FREE account.

Disclaimer

DISCLAIMER: Advice or answers from Lawyers on SA Legal Advice are not substitutes for the proper advice of an Lawyer. SA Legal Advice is a public forum and questions and responses are not private or confidential or protected by the attorney-client privilege. The Lawyer who assists with your question is not your Lawyer, and the response above is not to be considered to be legal advice. You should not read this response to propose specific action or address specific circumstances, but only to give you a sense of general principles of law that might affect the situation you describe. Application of these general principles to particular circumstances must be done by a lawyer who has spoken with you in confidence, learned all relevant information, and explored various options. Before acting on these general principles, you should hire a lawyer licensed to practice law in the jurisdiction to which your question pertains. The responses above are from individual Lawyers, not SA Legal Advice. The site and services are provided “as is”. This site is not for emergency questions which should be directed immediately by telephone or in-person to qualified professionals. Please carefully read the Terms of Service.